7 de noviembre de 2014

Foundation of Monterrey

Monterrey, the state capital, went through three foundations in the XVI century.

Foundation of Monterrey

Monterrey went through three foundations. The first two failed due to the resistance of the natives, the harsh terrain and the persecution of the first two founders by the Inquisition.

Alberto del Canto first settled in what would be Monterrey in 1577. He had just founded the Villa de Saltillo when he came across the Valle de Extremadura, where he established the pueblo of Santa Lucía. This population was probably formed mainly by indigenous people from other regions of the New Spain, and it didn’t last long, because in 1578 there was an order for the arrest of del Canto.

Some years after, the Spanish crown had decided against spending resources on further exploration, but started to welcome expeditioners who had enough money to finance themselves.

Luis Carvajal y de la Cueva traveled to Spain and proposed to king Phillip II the conquest, pacification and settlement of what became the Nuevo Reino de León. His proposal was quickly accepted, and Carvajal assembled a group of men and traveled back to the Americas, disembarking in Tampico.

Soon, he had taken control of the whole territory and the established populations in the south. He went to the abandoned site where Santa Lucía had been settled and founded the Villa de San Luis Rey de Francia, Monterrey’s second name.

This settlement failed as well, mostly because Carvajal was accused by fray Juan de la Magdalena and apprehended by the Inquisition. He died in jail before his trial.

The Nuevo Reino de León lay uninhabited and abandoned for 8 years. The first to come after that were some of the men of Luis de Carvajal y de la Cueva, who had remained in Saltillo. Among them was Diego de Montemayor.

With 12 families, Montemayor found the remains of the Villa de San Luis Rey de Francia and resettled it in September 20th 1596, giving it the name of Ciudad Metropolitana de Nuestra Señora de Monterrey.

Origin of the name Nuestra Señora de Monterrey

The name given by Diego de Montemayor to the settlement he founded was: Ciudad Metropolitana de Nuestra Señora de Monterrey. This name tried honored the Viceroy of the New Spain, Gaspar de Zúñiga y Acevedo, Count of Monterrey.

Quick facts

Settlement name: Ciudad Metropolitana de Nuestra Señora de Monterrey (1596)

Three foundations: 1577 (Alberto del Canto), 1582 (Luis Carvajal y de la Cueva), 1596 (Diego de Montemayor)

Original tribes: Amapoalas, Gualeguas, Catujanes, Gualiches, Ayancuaras

Archeological remains: Arrows, spear, cave paintings and stone engravings

Archeological sites: Boca de Potrerillos, La Calzada, Puntita Negra, la Cueva del Cordel, Villa Vieja

Historical figures: Alfonso Reyes, Fray Servando Teresa de Mier, Israel Cavazos, Doctor José Eleuterio González “Gonzalitos”, Pablo Livas

Contactos y servicios útiles: